Student Rugby League

University & College Rugby League



Page title The Summer Switch
Leeds Met take the double at the BUCS Finals

Leeds Met take the double at the BUCS Finals

26th March 2014, 20:28

In the BUCS Trophy Final Leeds Met A proved too strong for South Wales, after finishing last in their league last year Leeds Met were looking to finish a successful league run with their first BUCS Trophy final win. There wasn’t much between the sides in the opening ten minutes, however South Wales conceded a number of penalties which gave Leeds the majority of the possession.


Leeds finally broke through the defence after a number of repeat sets with a try from Jake O’grady who barged his way over from the dummy half position, Chris Ross added the conversion to take the score to 6-0. Joe Cauldfield was next on the score board for Leeds Met before Joe Bridger crossed the line for South Wales in what was to be the Welsh teams only try of the game.


Fraser Marjoribanks scored a third try for Leeds Met in the last play before half time to take the score to 14-4 at half time.


An early try for Leeds Met was to be the only score in the second half as Joe Caulfield crossed for his second try.


The full time score Leeds Met A 18-4 South Wales.


Leeds Met A

Tries: Jake O’grady, Joe Cauldfield (2), Fraser Marjoribanks

Conversions: Chris Ross

South Wales

Tries: Joe Bridger  


In the Championship final Leeds Met secured their 9th consecutive win defeating Loughborough in a thrilling final.


This was the 7th time in succession the two sides had met in the BUCS Championship final but Leeds proved too strong from the Premier South champions.


Leeds Met opened the scoring after just three minutes as Joe Chandler cut through the Loughborough defence five meters out from their line, Jonathon Dawes converted to take the score to 6-0.


The early try was a wakeup call for Loughborough who looked much stronger defensively for the 20 minutes to follow, Loughborough full back Tom Hughes diffused some challenging kicks from Leeds to keep the Yorkshire side from scoring before second row Jack Howdle showed some quick footwork to beat the Leeds defence and cross the line for Loughborough’s first try, Matt Brewer converted.


Leeds Met dominated the remainder of the half scoring four unanswered tries, the first through Jamie Love.


Man of the match Alistair Leake then made a fantastic break off-loading to centre Joe Chandler who fended off five players off before touching down in the corner of the field. Dan Parker was next to score with Dawes successfully converting before Mufargo Mvududu was awarded a penalty try for a high tackle which allowed Dawes to convert the eight point try.


Half time score Leeds Met 28-6 Loughborough.


An early second half injury to Leeds Met prop Chris Bowler caused play to stop for ten minutes which unsettled the Leeds Met side and put a halt to the momentum they had created before half time. Loughborough took advantage of the lapse in concentration and scored through replacement Tom Kay, Matt Brewer converted to take the score to 28-12.


A yellow card for Leeds Met replacement Dan Parker cost the Yorkshire side as Loughborough fullback Tom Hughes side-stepped his way through the Leeds defence and ran the length of the pitch before fending the Leeds full back to cross the line, Matt Brewer converted to bring the score to 28-18.


Just as the Loughborough side looked like they might make a last minute comeback Gareth Hynes barged his way over from close range to widen the gap for Leeds, Jamie Love then crossed for his second try of the game in the last minute of play to secure Leeds Met their 9th consecutive BUCS Championship.


The full time score was Leeds Met 38-18 Loughborough


Leeds Met

Tries: Joe Chandler (2), Jamie Love (2), Dan Parker,  Mufargo Mvududu, Gareth Hynes

Conversions: Jonathon Dawes (4)

Penalties: Jonathon Dawes



Tries: Jack Howdle, Tom Kay, Tom Hughes

Conversions: Matt Brewer (3)


In the conference cup finals Loughborough B edged Warwick in a close game to take the Midlands title 18-12. Swansea had a convincing victory over Exeter in the Western conference cup, winning 48-18 and York St Johns narrowly defeated Bradford 20-12 to win the Northern conference cup.




Raging Bull Logo